Australia imposes new sanctions against Russia

Australia imposes new sanctions against Russia

The Australian government has imposed new economic sanctions against Russia over the war in Ukraine.

This was reported by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs.

The sanctions list includes 45 legal entities and individuals. In particular, these include 35 companies in the defence, technology and energy sectors and 10 senior officials.

The new restrictive measures include:

  • Russian companies supplying advanced technology, electronics and equipment to the Russian Armed Forces
  • Russian entities involved in nuclear energy and Arctic resource extraction
  • Russian First Deputy Prime Minister Belousov and Deputy Prime Minister Chernyshenko
  • Major Russian defence entities, including Russia's largest producer of military helicopters and its CEO
  • Senior Belarusian military officials who have threatened Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity.

"Today's sanctions underline Australia's commitment to working with partners to maintain pressure on Russia and those supporting its illegal and immoral war. Australia's sanctions regime against Russia reflects our support for the people of Ukraine and for its sovereignty and territorial integrity," said Australian Foreign Minister Penny Wong.