European Union adopts 13th package of sanctions against Russia

European Union adopts 13th package of sanctions against Russia

Brussels, Belgium (Svidomi) — The Council of the European Union has adopted the 13th package of sanctions against the Russian Federation on the second anniversary of the full-scale invasion of Ukraine, the EU Council press service reports.

The sanctions list includes 106 individuals and 88 legal entities, including those related to the military and defence sectors.

"The new listings agreed today target primarily the military and defence sectors and associated individuals, including those involved in DPRK armament supply to Russia, as well as members of the judiciary, local politicians and people responsible for the illegal deportation and military re-education of Ukrainian children," the statement said.

The assets of these people will be frozen, and EU citizens and companies will be prohibited from providing them with funds. The sanctioned individuals are also banned from entering or transiting the EU.

The EU Council added 27 new entities to the list of those directly supporting Russia's military-industrial complex. They will be subject to stricter export restrictions on dual-use goods and technologies.

"Some of these entities are located in third countries (India, Sri Lanka, China, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Thailand, and Türkiye) and have been involved in the circumvention of trade restrictions," the EU Council writes.

The EU has imposed additional restrictions on exports of goods that, among other things, contribute to Russia's industrial capacity, such as electrical transformers.

"Russia’s ability to wage its war of aggression must be further weakened, including by further strengthening sanctions," the statement said. 

According to the Financial Times, Hungary is the only country that did not support the 13th package of sanctions.

It will be recalled that Moldovan companies, as intermediaries, sold approximately $15 million worth of aircraft parts to Russia in circumvention of the sanctions.